May we also suggest...

CICADA Magazine for Teens ages 14+

Harry Potter and Philosophy

MUSE Magazine for Kids ages 9-14

Princesses of Atlantis
CRICKET Magazine for Kids ages 9-14 
Subscription Options
 
$33.95
$17.99
$51.90
 
Frequently bought together:
 
$8.49
$17.95
$4.95
 
 

CRICKET Magazine for Kids ages 9-14

CRICKET magazine publishes only the highest quality fiction and classic literature and nonfiction stories on culture, history, science, and the arts. Each issue includes a signature cast of rambunctious bug characters who offer humorous commentary on the stories.


Look inside (Sample Pages)

Customer Reviews and Awards

Access your subscription on a variety of devices! Choose the "print + digital" option and we will email download and login instructions when we process your order.

Want more Cricket Magazine? -click to see more

Just for Kids

Several
ebooks drawn from past editions of Cricket are ready for your iPad, kindle, or nook.

Free with each paid subscription to Cricket comes access to bonus content on the magazine's companion Web site. www.CricketMagKids.com encourages children to share ideas, original art, creative writing, and book recommendations with Cricket readers around the world in a monitored forum. Puzzles, activities, and audio recordings of stories extend the content of the printed magazine.

Past issues - Cricket back issues are available individually. See our favorite titles or visit the Educators' site for full selection.

Cricket Magazine History -click to see more

For almost 40 years, Cricket has delighted and entertained children and teens around the globe with the "best of the best" in children's literature. Cricket's guiding principle is the belief that imaginative young readers would respond enthusiastically to wonderful stories accompanied by world-class illustrations, without any advertising. Marianne Carus, founder and Editor-in-Chief of Cricket, says,

"The way to create in children a love of reading and an appreciation of good writing is to offer them beautifully illustrated, lively, well-written, interesting stories that sustain a witty tone and a sense of humor. I am convinced that children will respond to quality if it's not forced upon them but presented in an engaging manner."
Mrs. Carus is well-respected and much-loved in the world of children's publishing for her lifelong commitment to bringing top-quality fiction and nonfiction to young readers. In 2003, her unique contribution to children's literature was recognized with an honorary doctors degree in humane letters from Illinois Wesleyan University, and in 2006 she was inducted into the Association of Educational Publishers Hall of Fame for a lifetime of work educating children. Read more of the Cricket story.

Guarantee & Shipping -click to see more

  1. Cricket Guarantee: You can transfer your subscription among any of our kids' magazines at NO COST. You can cancel at any time and request a refund for issues that haven't shipped yet by contacting 1-800-821-0115.
  2. All of our children's magazine subscriptions qualify for free shipping when being sent to a U.S. address (additional $15 for non-U.S.).
  3. You can personalize and send or print a gift card to announce your gift. We have special designs for each of our 13 children's magazines.
  4. Your first issue will arrive in 4-6 weeks. Find out more.


Princesses of Atlantis

The Princess of Atlantis

This Cricket Book offers pitch-perfect romance and fantasy for anyone who enjoys stories of ancient Atlantis and the fairy tales created by that mystical island.

Twelve-year-old best friends Carly and Arlene are writing a novel together about the final days of Atlantis. Their heroines are twin princesses struggling to avoid being sacrificed to the rain god. As the princesses escape from Atlantis, Carly and Arlene realize that their lives are moving apart. Carly starts to hang out with more sophisticated friends, and Arlene senses betrayal. As their fantasy veers toward its thrilling conclusion, they find their friendship on the brink of disaster.

As School Library Journal says, "The fantasy within the story is well constructed and adds to this book's appeal... May catch the attention of reluctant readers." A perfect gift for readers of MUSE, CRICKET, and any kid with a flair for the fantastic and love of the written word.

Hardcover.

Author/Illustrator
Click here for shipping details.

In a Word

In a Word: 750 Words and Their Fascinating Stories and Origins

In a Word is an indispensable kid’s book featuring short stories about the origin of 750 words in use today. This book explores the history of language and some phrases that kids today take for granted.Few people have ever accused them of being fun, but this book is. The 750 entries are little gems of detective work that take the reader through history, geography, and most of the world’s ancient and modern cultures. Unless you’re an etymologist yourself, you’ll be sneaking this book away from your children to read how “gargoyle” is related to the word “gargle,” or why “starboard” has nothing to do with which side of the boat the stars are on.

Each word or phrase used today had a beginning - a reason for being coined. Words travel through time and evolve, taking on new characteristics, new meanings, and fascinating tales of people, places, and events. Applaud, for example, goes back to ancient Rome, when an actor would turn to the audience and demand "Plaudite!" ("Clap!")

This fun book contains 750 word origins written in a witty short-story style. Many of the words are accompanied by "P.S.'s," that provide details about a word's history and usage. Witty illustrations by Tom Lopes showcase many of the words' visual connections.The book comes with a language chart, an index, and an introduction by a linguistics scholar. In a Word makes the perfect gift for curious kids with a desire to learn about the world around them. The whole family will enjoy this fun-filled book!Hardcover.

Click here for shipping details.

Extra Issue of Cricket for Immediate Delivery

CRICKET magazine subscription for children ages 9-14 is a wonderful gift!

Normally, the first issue of a new subscription will arrive within 6-10 weeks.  Now, you can give an extra issue that will be delivered immediately.  This magazine issue is in addition to the regular subscription term.

The CRICKET magazine 
issue currently available to be sent immediately is the March 2015 issue. 

Remember to order your Subscription to go along with the extra issue!


Sign up for our Newsletter

Contact Information:   http://support.cricketmedia.com  &  800-821-0115